Home‎ > ‎

Council Contacts

To email the Mayor and all members of council, use this link: EMail Mayor and Council​.
When e-mailing Mayor and/or Council members, they ask that you include your telephone number and address to facilitate an appropriate response. If you are unsure of the Ward in which you live, there is a Ward map at the bottom of this page.

The 2012 election cycle brought some interesting changes to the composition of City Council. Sumi Kailasapathy has replaced Sandi Smith in the First Ward, Sally Petersen won her primary election in the Second Ward against Tony Derezinski, and Chuck Warpehoski (D) will replace Carsten Honke in the Fifth Ward. Smith and Hohke did not seek reelection.

The August 2013 primary election included the defeat of 14 year incumbent Marcia Higgins by longtime neighborhood activist Jack Eaton. Eaton will be unopposed on the November 5 ballot and will take office November 18, 2013.

The 2014 elections involved open seats for Mayor, Ward 2 and Ward 3. The Ward 4 and 5 seats were uncontested. Importantly, the contested races had all candidates promising to focus on essential services and existing infrastructure. In prior contests where voters asked to choose between the visionary projects of urban planers and the commons sense priorities of neighborhood friendly candidates, voters chose common sense. In 2014, some candidates promised that residents could have both the expensive projects that had proven unpopular and the essential services and infrastructure that residents value. We will see how those visionary projects are financed.

Mayor

Christopher Taylor (D)
301 E. Huron Street
Ann Arbor MI 48104
734-794-6161
CTaylor@a2gov.org
 

Ward 1:

Sabra Briere (D)

1418 Broadway
Ann Arbor, MI 48105

734-995-3518
SBriere@a2gov.org

Sumi Kailasapathy (D)
2530 Mallard Ct
Ann Arbor MI 48105
734-769-5698
SKailasapathy@a2gov.org

 

Ward 2:

Jane Lumm (I)
3075 Overridge Drive
Ann Arbor MI 48104
734-677-4010
JLumm@a2gov.org

Kirk Westphal (D)
3505 Charter Place
Ann Arbor MI48105
734-660-9955
KWestphal@a2gov.org

 

Ward 3:

Stephen Kunselman (D)

2885 Butternut

Ann Arbor, MI 48108

734-975-4604
SKunselman@a2gov.org

Julie Grand (D)
1604 Brooklyn Ave.
Ann Arbor MI 48104
734-678-7567
JGrand@a2gov.org

 

Ward 4:

Graydon Krapohl (D)
1502 Golden Avenue
Ann Arbor MI 48104
734-998-1102
GKrapohl@a2gov.org

Jack Eaton (D)
1606 Dicken Dr
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
734-6626083

JEaton@a2gov.org


 

Ward 5:

Mike Anglin (D)

549 S. First St.
Ann Arbor, MI 48103

734-741-9786

MAnglin@a2gov.org

Chuck Warpehoski (D)
2020 Winewood
Ann Arbor MI 48103
734-972-8304
CWarpehoski@a2gov.org

The Council's web page: http://www.a2gov.org/government/citycouncil/Pages/Home.aspx



Click the map to see an enlarged image.